Sunday, March 26, 2017

Kimberly at Arbor Springs Elementary School: 2nd Grade!

I am thrilled to be visiting Arbor Springs Elementary School in Coweta, GA this week!

We are going to be using creative writing and tableau to learn about emotions and poetry!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_Cl9pjnWKO5YTM2aGdEX3laTUk/view?usp=sharing

Saturday, March 25, 2017

Lindy Lee: Songs On Mill Hill by Kimberly Simms set to release on September 15, 2017

Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill features over 40 poems based on the history and landscape of Carolina and Georgia textile mill workers from the 1910s to the 1960s. The poems focus on the fictional character of Lindy Lee, her family, and their mill village. Although these poems aspire to portray Southern mill workers as accurately as possible, they constitute a creative work of fiction. Most result from the synthesis of stories gleaned from personal accounts, site visits, newspaper articles, and historical volumes. The poems explore the emotional turmoil, physical hardships, and joys of Southern women and their families in the textile industry.

Pre-sales start May 9th!!



“Kimberly Simms writes with eloquence and empathy about an important part of Southern history too often neglected.”
--Ron Rash
Author of Serena
A New York Times bestseller and PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

“I've been reading the Lindy Lee poems for over a decade now, and I'm delighted to see them collected in a volume that amplifies their individual power. In the tradition of Ron Rash, Cathy Smith Bowers, and Linda Ferguson, Kimberly Simms has chronicled the lives of textile workers in the Carolinas with historical accuracy, imaginative insight, and lyrical grace.”
-- Dr. Gilbert Allen
    Author of Catma
   Robert Penn Warren Prize Winner

“Innovative and entertaining. Often Simms reminds me of Rita Dove's THOMAS AND BEULAH, the ability to capture a whole human life in only a few carefully-crafted lines. Simms blends the folk-road with the erudite, makes the plain-spoken country-speak stand for the deepest spiritual constructs within our souls. I’ve read this collection several times for the delight and the surprise.  I strongly suspect other readers will too. What a new craftsman is here!”
--Paul Allen,
Author of AMERICAN CRAWL and GROUND FORCES

"Focused on a life sewn into mill town culture of the early twentieth century and on through the sixties, Kimberly Simms’ Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill reignite an important (but often forgotten) crux of the South's history. These are not lugubrious, nostalgia-laden poems longing for a South that never was: they are, in sum, a beautiful lens through which to celebrate and record the joys and hardships of a charged, mythic, and sweat-soaked place, its kin and kith, and the microcosmic realities that gather to form a dynamism, a culture still moving, abiding in memory and the heart."
--William Wright
Author of Tree Heresies
Georgia Author of the Year, 2016


Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Kimberly Simms wins The 2016 SmartARTS Teaching Artist Award

SmartARTS


From the early days in 2003, Kimberly Simms Gibbs has been involved in the Metropolitan Arts Council's SmartARTS program that focuses on deep, meaningful learning for Greenville County students through arts integration.  In partnership, with SmartARTS, Kimberly Simms integrates both creative writing and theater into a variety of curriculums including science, socials studies, languageg arts, and visual art.




This year, the Metropolitan Arts Council held their 2016 Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony at the Gunter Theater at the Peace Center before a large crowd. Allan Ethridge, Executive Director, and Gayla Day, Director of Education, presented The 2016 SmartARTS Teaching Artist Award to Kimberly Simms Gibbs.

In 2016, Kimberly Simms Gibbs completed 8 day residencies at League Academy (3) and Sevier Middle School, spending 64 days working in Greenville county Schools.

To learn how you can bring Kimberly to your school, please email witsendpoetrysc@gmail.com.