Applause



“Kimberly Simms writes with eloquence and empathy about an important part of Southern history too often neglected.”
--Ron Rash
Author of Serena
A New York Times bestseller and PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

"Focused on a life sewn into mill town culture of the early twentieth century and on through the sixties, Kimberly Simms’ Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill reignite an important (but often forgotten) crux of the South's history. These are not lugubrious, nostalgia-laden poems longing for a South that never was: they are, in sum, a beautiful lens through which to celebrate and record the joys and hardships of a charged, mythic, and sweat-soaked place, its kin and kith, and the microcosmic realities that gather to form a dynamism, a culture still moving, abiding in memory and the heart."
--William Wright
Author of Tree Heresies 
Georgia Author of the Year, 2016

"With an eye for keen and often surprising details, Kimberly Simms captures the cadence, the splendor, and the heartache of the lives of Southern textile mill workers. These poems of sorrow, joy, and redemption are the sort of literary experience that stick with you longer after the final line has fallen into an echo."
--Ryan G. Van Cleave, author of UNLOCKED and LANDSCAPE & DREAM

“Innovative and entertaining. Often Simms reminds me of Rita Dove's THOMAS AND BEULAH, the ability to capture a whole human life in only a few carefully-crafted lines. Simms blends the folk-road with the erudite, makes the plain-spoken country-speak stand for the deepest spiritual constructs with our souls. I’ve read this collection several times for the delight and the surprise.  I strongly suspect other readers will too. What a new craftsman is here!”
--Paul Allen,
Author of AMERICAN CRAWL and GROUND FORCES

“I've been reading the Lindy Lee poems for over a decade now, and I'm delighted to see them collected in a volume that amplifies their individual power. In the tradition of Ron Rash, Cathy Smith Bowers, and Linda Ferguson, Kimberly Simms has chronicled the lives of textile workers in the Carolinas with historical accuracy, imaginative insight, and lyrical grace.”
-- Gilbert Allen
    Author of Catma
   Robert Penn Warren Prize Winner

“The Pat Conroy Literary Center was delighted to host Kimberly Simms’ Talking to Disaster workshop through the South Carolina Humanities Speakers Bureau. Kimberly was exceptionally well prepared, having adapted the format of her writing-as-healing workshop by researching images, details, and artistic responses related to Hurricane Matthew and including them in her class along with representative poems previously written about the storm and an original piece of her own. From that foundation, she was able to engage our participants in a genuine, compelling dialogue about their experiences in and after the storm. Her interactive exercises and writing prompts were thoughtfully suited to the class and well received by our writers. Kimberly demonstrated great empathy with the participants, proving herself to be an excellent listener as well as a masterful teaching artist. I highly recommend her as a presenter and writing workshop leader.”—Jonathan Haupt, executive director, Pat Conroy Literary Center