About the Book

OFFICIAL PRE-SALES ARE OVER! 

Place your book order today and be one of the first to receive Kimberly's debut book!
___________________________________________________________

Buy your books directly from the author, and it will be personally signed just for you:

Author Signature to [Name}
Multiple copies: For each personally signed copy, put a comma between each name.
MAIL ORDER: Please make checks out to Kimberly Simms. Order Form. 



LINDY LEE: SONGS ON MILL HILL brings to life the social fault lines of textile mills in the rural Piedmont — themes of child labor, the changing roles of women, of a fading away of life where isolation is juxtaposed against a strong sense of community. 

Part history, part poetry — this collection is peppered with the poignant, rarely seen photography of Lewis Hine (1874 – 1940).  With Lindy Lee, KIMBERLY J. SIMMS finds the vast and profound in the smallest of domestic spaces. In the words of William Wright (2016 Georgia Author of the Year), she celebrates and records in vivid imagery “the joys and hardships of a charged, mythic, and sweat-soaked place.”

With an eye for keen and often surprising details . . . these poems of sorrow, joy, and redemption are the sort of literary experience that stick with you long after the final line has fallen into an echo." — Ryan G. Van Cleave, author of UNLOCKED and LANDSCAPE & DREAM

“Innovative and entertaining. Simms blends the folk-road with the erudite, makes the plain-spoken country-speak stand for the deepest spiritual constructs within our souls!” —Paul Allen, Author of AMERICAN CRAWL and GROUND FORCES.

“In the tradition of Ron Rash, Cathy Smith Bowers, and Linda Ferguson, Kimberly Simms has chronicled the lives of textile workers in the Carolinas with historical accuracy, imaginative insight, and lyrical grace.” —Gilbert Allen, Author of CATMA and THE FINAL DAYS OF GREAT AMERICAN SHOPPING


Book clubs

Kimberly is available to visit your book club in the Upstate of South Carolina or Metro Atlanta. Here are discussion questions that may guide your book club conversation:
http://www.kimberlysimms.com/p/book-club-questions.html

OTHER BOOKS:
To find out more about my other books and anthologies, please visit